RSS

Two Great Races

21 Oct

English: Checkered flag for Formula One flag F...

Checkered flag f(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Here’s a remarkable track race:

video

0:02:41

https://www.youtube.com/watch?NR=1&v=NsOBaV_93yQ&feature=endscreen

•  Here’s another great “race” between a police officer and a man armed with a pistol and a camera.

video

00:05:19

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0En_sdsyh1M&feature=related

Both “races” were won by courage, determination and a refusal to give in to adversity.

.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2012 in Values, Video

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Two Great Races

  1. stephen

    October 22, 2012 at 10:31 AM

    Al, the though has accrued to me, your eye’s are open wide, you see as a man who is made in the image of YHWH! GOD is for men under fiction of law, for the light of YHWH, truth is not in them. Long ago men without YHWH knowledge, used God = Dog, and live=evil and lived=devil, so that over time the common use of these words by those who seek YHWH’s face in faithful, maybe considered tobe double minded and traded upon as are the bea$t of the fields! [see constitutor A person (not a man) who promised or pledges to pay the debts of another!]. This of smells of fraudare! AL, a friend in austin thinks you losed your mind, I belive, you now know who you are and from where you came, so be it, I’am, Embassador Stephen, of the kingdom of YHWH, follower of Yaohushua, and recevier of the divine spirit, sobe it!

     
    • Adask

      October 22, 2012 at 11:26 AM

      In the aftermath of my divorce and futile child custody battle in A.D. 1983, I went through a very difficult, five-year period of depression. I was three years going to the bottom of that depression, and two more coming back up to a level where I could fake being normal. For a while, I was living in my pickup truck. I’d lost everything but my pulse. In a sense, those five years might correspond to your friend’s suspicion that I had somehow “lost my mind”.

      In retrospect, that five years of loss “erased” many of my previous beliefs and presumptions. Perhaps I emerged from that “brain-washing” with eyes able, for the first time, to “see”–at least a little.

      Depression lingered. Sometimes it would be more pronounced. Sometimes it would abate for months or even years. But when depression occurred, it was disabling and scary. But it was also fascinating because I knew all along that I did some of my best work, “saw” with greatest clarity, while I was depressed.

      My fear of depression ended in A.D. 2003 while I was being held in a level-5, maximum-security jail for 344 days. I was getting along just fine, but I was concerned that if I stumbled into another episode of depression, I could be in big trouble. Jail is no place to be weak.

      And then, after several months in the slammer, I felt myself begin to “degrade” into a depression. I felt it a little bit on the first day. I recognized what was probably the beginning of an “episode,” but hoped I was wrong. On the second day it got worse, and I was sure that the “episode” was real. On the third day, I realized that my depressions were the equivalent of “God’s ringtone”. I realized that whenever I slipped into a depression it was merely God’s way of trying to get my attention and tell me that 1) He wanted to communicate an important insight to me; and 2) I had better pay attention. I realized that the longer I refused to “hear” from God, the longer and deeper my depression would become. Conversely, if the depressions were merely God’s way of telling me to “listen up!,” whenever a depression began all I had to do was read the Bible and pray with the intent of discovering whatever it was God wanted to communicate. Once I “got the message,” the depression would end.

      As I’ve said before, once I realized my depressions were merely God’s “ringtone,” I popped up out of my depression like a stripper jumping out of a birthday cake. I’d gotten the message. The depression was instantly gone.

      Since then, I still have occasional episodes of depression. They are rare and short-lived. I know now that my depressions are merely evidence that God wants me to “pay attention”. I do. The depression disappears.

      Where depressions used to scare me, I now welcome them as evidence that the Good LORD still wants to communicate with me. So long as God thinks enough of me to still want to communicate, I’m good to go. In fact, I’ve reached a point where I get a little concerned if I haven’t felt a bit of depression for quite a long time.

      I’m sure that sounds nutty to some people, but it works for me.

      And there is some biblical evidence to support my notions on depression. In the Old Testament, David reports that he and his men fasted for some time so as to “humble” themselves before they prayed in order be more open to God’s voice. When you fast, you don’t eat. When you don’t eat, you may go into low blood sugar. Low blood sugar can correspond to mild depression. I strongly suspect that “humbling” yourself in the Old Testament corresponded to placing yourself in a “depressed” condition so as to better “hear” from God.

      In Isaiah 53:3 the coming Christ is described as follows: “He is despised and rejected of men; a man of sorrows, and acquainted with grief: and we hid as it were our faces from him; he was despised, and we esteemed him not.” I suspect the term “a man of sorrows” may be synonymous with “a man prone to depression“. Clearly, the Christ was not a “party animal”. Although he could turn water into wine, he was not the “life of the party”. Despite being Jewish, he was not a stand-up comedian. As I read the Bible, the Christ was a “depressed” personality. I can’t say my analysis is necessarily true, but if it was true, it would tend to support my idea that depression is God’s ringtone and a signal that God wants to communicate something to you.

      Let’s assume I was right and depression was a means God used to get some people’s attention. Then, what could we say about all the anti-depression drugs that are routinely sold and used in this country? It seems to me that by taking anti-depressants, we would eliminate the overt symptoms of depression–but we would also thereby refuse to take the “call” coming from God. My experience suggests that if God wants to “call” you, He will continue to dial until you answer. The depression’s symptoms might be masked by anti-depressants, but the depression itself would remain and perhaps even grow stronger until you decided to “listen up” and take God’s “call”.

      If that analysis were valid, it would indicate that anti-depressants may be fundamentally un-Godly or even diabolical. I don’t doubt that anti-depressants are necessary for some people suffering depression. But I strongly suspect that for many, perhaps most, the cure for depression is to read the Bible, pray and open your mind to God. I don’t know if that strategy is true for anyone else, but it is true for me.

       

Leave a Reply

