RSS

Traditions of Men

04 Mar

Pastrana Encierro3

Pastrana Encierro3 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Here’s an odd little video that shows people intentionally challenging several bulls.  At first the video is disturbing.  How could hundreds, even thousands of people be so damn stupid as to risk being gored by a bull?

Answer:  It’s a tradition.

OK.  It’s a tradition–but it’s still stupid.  And after you watch it for a while it’s no longer disturbing  so much as hilarious.  I mean, these people are really stupid.  They’re not victims, they’re just idiots.  After a while, I find myself rooting for the bulls.

And although the bulls seem to be enjoying themselves immensely, they’re not so smart either.  If I were one of these bulls, I wouldn’t go after the morons challenging me in the streets, I’d go after the people holding my leash.

The whole thing is bizarre.  I’m not sure if I’m watching an episode of “running with the bulls” in Madrid, or a Democratic Party convention in Philadelphia.

video      00:06:29

https://www.youtube.com/watch_popup?v=2h-WhhqFjv4&vq=small

 
14 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2013 in Humor, Video

 

Tags:

14 responses to “Traditions of Men

  1. palani

    March 4, 2013 at 2:14 PM

    I had a Hereford bull one time. I overwintered him in his own pen separate from the cows (so I didn’t always have to check behind me for a charging bull while feeding the females). Anyway he got pretty protective of his jurisdiction. I would feed him a bale and he would invariably charge. He never got me but it was always exciting feeding him. I never walked into his pen (a large one) without carrying a livestock shocker and he would charge close enough to touch his nose. Of course he was polled but 1,500 lbs can still do some damage.

    You might say the only thing between me an eternity was the reliability of four copper top D cells.

     
    • Snapper

      March 4, 2013 at 6:44 PM

      HEY palani
      @ it was always exciting feeding him
      I BET !!! How exciting was it? I wonder what the four copper top D cell “persuader” would do to a “human being?” No, I don’t mean a man, I mean a “human.” I’m about to find out. I only hope HE will survive it. If not,I wilol be in deep poo-P.

       
      • palani

        March 4, 2013 at 7:44 PM

        These things don’t pack the power a TASER has. Granted the livestock don’t really like it and tend to move away but, like a congressman stated on the record, ‘it is more humane than a 2×4’. Besides, bulls perform less well when shot for their misdeeds.

         
    • Adask

      March 4, 2013 at 8:14 PM

      In the 1970s, my dad had a little retirement farm and 180 head of black angus. Those are small cattle–typically about half the size of the bull you mentioned. But even black angus bulls have balls the size of grapefruits and they’re not hanging there for ballast or decoration. I came to guesstimate that there was at least as much testosterone as blood in the bulls. These bulls are made to defend their territory, their cows and their calves. They’re made to fight any intruder and do so with spectacular power and without fear. Even armed with a livestock shocker, you’ve gotta be a little nuts (or young) to challenge a bull on its own turf.

      I wonder how many of the people who run with the bulls have ever worked around a bull. How many of those “runners” have no previous clue to the bull’s power?

      I also wonder how many of those who’ve been gored ever dare to run again.

       
      • palani

        March 4, 2013 at 9:13 PM

        Even with all the testosterone a bull has I had a bad experience once with an Angus. I free choiced some lecithin/soy oil barrels. The bull not only didn’t settle the cows but it got so he couldn’t hang around them. He would jump the fence 3-4 times a day, get lonely and jump back in. He became such a nuisance he got sent off to the sale barn early (after he SHOULD have settled them and didn’t). The cows didn’t even bother to jump each other as they normally do when open.

        To sum up: Soy is laced with so much female hormone that it can disrupt the behavior of a bull this large and if you eat any amount of it don’t think for a minute it won’t turn you into a queer or a steer.

         
      • Yartap

        March 5, 2013 at 12:16 AM

        Power of the Bulls? What about the power of the Females?

        I helped a girlfriend’s father and brother cut a just dropped calve’s nuts out. They keep mama away, while I did the cuttings. Just as I had finished pulling the oysters out and was reaching for the iodine, my ASS was flying though the air and landing against a wire fence that was 20 feet away. Not only did I have a black and blue backside for two weeks, I had fence impressions upon my face, too. And I was lucky.

         
    • Snapper

      March 5, 2013 at 6:15 AM

      palani
      @Anyway he got pretty protective of his jurisdiction.
      Territory & jurisdiction,hmmmm.Kinda go hand n hand.

       
  2. johannabernaysjohn the baptist

    March 4, 2013 at 2:49 PM

     
  3. johannabernaysjohn the baptist

    March 4, 2013 at 2:54 PM

    This Is HARLARIOUS Funny too. I shit in my shorts I laughed so hard!

     
  4. Snapper

    March 4, 2013 at 8:13 PM

    I could not watch it all, but I did enjoy the music. Warped ain’t it? The music was fitting for the ocassion. ALL traditions of men are inspired of Satan in my opinion. I KNOW most of them are anyway. IF Mother’s Day & Father’s Day are traditions of men, I think these two days are something Man did right. but I’m probably wrong there too.

     
  5. Anon4fun

    March 4, 2013 at 9:48 PM

    palani:

    The soy lecithin and oil are unlikely to be the cause of the bull’s behavior. What inclines you to be a girly-man for the NWO is the protein of the soy, not its lecithin or oil. Besides, soy isn’t even the worse offender in this regard. Certain common chemicals, like Monsanto’s agricultural herbicide Roundup, are a lot worse.

    On the other hand, maybe the soy was a GMO strain courtesy of Monsanto, in which case anything is possible.

     
    • Dusty

      March 5, 2013 at 2:00 PM

      There is becoming more than anecdotal evidence of hormonal aberrations related to the estrogens found in soy, whether GMO or not. Fermented products, not so much, apparently. But you cannot separate hormones from the meal and the oil.. there will be estrogenic influences in both, even if separated. There is a real possibility of that bull getting a dose of estrogens to cause it’s behavior, which have similar effects on humans and many livestock, possibly all of them. There is abundant research leading to that conclusion.

      There is much concern, mostly anecdotal in this regard so far, that our reproductive abilities and libido as well, worldwide are being affected by the hormonal effects of estrogens found in both our food chain as well as in the water supplies. Men are more girly-fied today than of years past, a stark fact noted in research. Hormones are nature’s regulators, and can have drastic consequences when thrown out of balance.

      I completely concur that any departures from the natural strains after entering the Frankenstein laboratories of Monsanto and their ilk, is anyones guess what comes out at the other end!

       
  6. Yartap

    March 4, 2013 at 11:51 PM

    My first job to do on a ranch at age 15 years old was to drive a truck with an enclosed trailer into a field with one young lonely red hereford bull and load him. Not to show fear, I said, “OK – I can do that.” I thought to myself, “What am I doing?” When I got to the field, the young bull’s head raised up quickly and look dead straight at the truck and me. I stopped and got out and quickly opened the trailer gate and got behind it. The young bull quickly trotted to the back and went right into the back. I quickly closed the gate and thought, “Man – that was easy!” When the bull got to the end of the 20 foot trailer and found NO FEMALES (the trailer had been used to haul many females before his trip), the young bull began to almost destroy the trailer before I got him back. Then I had to unload him! Cattle can be a scary thing.

     
  7. Anthony Clifton

    March 6, 2013 at 4:48 AM

    speaking of STUPID…what would GUN OWNERS actually do if they found their NATION invaded by Financial Terrorists who left the gate open for an INVASION ?

    http://www.realjewnews.com/?p=800

    What have the 90 million armed patriotic army done to stem the massive illegal and legal third world invasion?

    http://buelahman.wordpress.com/2013/03/06/internment-and-resettlement-operations/

    Why, absolutely nothing. As long as there are all-you-can-eat buffets, American Idol and NFL (that means the National Felon League), this so-called patriotic army will remain in a stupor.

    http://www.ynetnews.com/articles/0,7340,L-4351915,00.html

    define STUPOR :

     

Leave a Reply

