RSS

Techno-Phobia?

06 Jun

Mind Over Matter (courtesy Google Images)

Mind Over Matter (courtesy Google Images)

When was the last time you saw a new technology that was developed simply to help the people?  When was the last time you saw a new technology that was primarily intended to help the people rather than generate fat profits for corporations or more power for government?  How many new technologies that might truly enrich the public have been suppressed in order to maintain profit levels for major corporation and power levels for the government?

Here’s a video of group of university scientists who developed a system whereby a “pilot” can fly a quad-copter with only his thoughts.

For most of my life, I would’ve said “Oooo, cool!” and wondered how long it would be before I could buy or build one of those systems for myself.  But after catching my first glimpse of this new technology, I was surprised to find my first reaction to be wondering how government will exploit this technology to push us deeper into the growing police state.

Apparently, my personal predisposition to pessimism and/or distrust of government has grown so great that whenever I see something “new,” I’m less inclined to be enthusiastic than to be wary.

I.e., I see something new, and I ask myself how will government and/or major, multi-national corporations use this to screw us around?  After the perversions of HAARP, geo-engineering, GMO foods, fluoride, vaccinations, red-light cameras, spying on millions of Verizon customers, and an endless stream of conspiracy theories, it appears that our modern, fascist state has made me a little techno-phobic.  Or maybe I’m just getting old.

I’d still like to say “Ooo, cool!” whenever I see a new technology.  But, here in the police state, I find myself saying “Aww, crap.”

I’m surprised by my pessimism.  I’m curious to know if that attitude is fairly unique to me or if it’s also shared by others.  How many of you still enjoy a child-like state of wonder each time you see new technology?  Do any of you–like me–tend to view new technologies as just another, more efficient way to hustle us out of our wealth or even deprive us of our liberties?

video     00:02:29

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=6LWz4qa2XQA#!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 6, 2013 in Fascism, Police State, Technology, Video

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Techno-Phobia?

  1. johannabernays

    June 6, 2013 at 11:37 AM

    https://fatgreenfrog.wordpress.com/

    “I am being me.” is my new slogan. Adask & Morris Berman are my Favourite bloggers.

    The Simple answer- Propaganda is So Strong in America, that the Entire Rest Of The World stands afar, Dumbstruck at our Stupidity!

    18 And another angel came out from the altar, which had power over fire; and cried with a loud cry to him that had the sharp sickle, saying, Thrust in thy sharp sickle, and gather the clusters of the vine of the earth; for her grapes are fully ripe.

    19 And the angel thrust in his sickle into the earth, and gathered the vine of the earth, and cast it into the great winepress of the wrath of God.

    20 And the winepress was trodden without the city, and blood came out of the winepress, even unto the horse bridles, by the space of a thousand and six hundred furlongs.

     
  2. Mike

    June 6, 2013 at 12:00 PM

    I am tecno phobic as well. In my humble opinion we should have stopped with the telegraph and a few life saving medical devices. Their world exists for its own pleasure and not the pleasure of creator. That isn’t a good thing I think.

     
  3. Carlton

    June 6, 2013 at 1:15 PM

    Another excellent article, Mr. Adask. Though you said you could be getting old, your mind seems young.

    Adask said, “When was the last time you saw a new technology that was primarily intended to help the people rather than generate fat profits for corporations or more power for government?”

    Point well taken, though let us not be limited by this dichotomy. Assuming the principle purpose of corporations is to make money is just that: an assumption. Corporations must make money in order to operate, generally speaking, but so too must cars burn gasoline.

    The principle purpose of a car is not to burn gasoline, however. Likewise, the principle purpose of a corporation is not to make money, necessarily. This is especially true after the vast corporate consolidations into the hands of the money power in recent decades. If there’s one thing the money power doesn’t need more of, it’s money. They already have an effectively infinite supply of it.

    In fact, private corporations have replaced nation states as the main vehicle of world conquest for the money power. And, these days, advancing the project for world conquest means conquering the world’s peoples, including We the People, since the world’s governments and other institutions of political power are, for the most part, already under their control to the maximum extent possible.

    As far as the money power is concerned, “more government = more power” is rapidly becoming an outdated equation, a relic of the 19th and 20th centuries. Consequently, they are preparing to shed their skin.

     
  4. Jethro

    June 6, 2013 at 3:40 PM

    “I’d still like to say ‘Ooo, cool!’ whenever I see a new technology. But, here in the police state, I find myself saying ‘Aww, crap.”

    You’re not alone. Sci-fi writers have imagined worlds where mind-reading technology is used as a tool of oppression. Ever see the movie “Fortress”? In this movie, for those sent to prison, part of the punishment is prisoners are not allowed to have pleasant dreams. This is enforced with a machine that can enter the minds of inmates. Here’s the trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3U6oLx3xy8s

    It’s not a masterpiece of cinema, but since it was made in 1992 imagining the year 2017, it looks like we’re right about on schedule.

     
  5. TheSleeperHasAwakened

    June 7, 2013 at 3:09 PM

    I feel the same way everytime I see the “newest” and “Cutting-edge” technology being unveiled.

    My thoughts either turn to how it will be exploited by the Police State or how it is Transhuman.

     
  6. mark

    August 9, 2013 at 1:39 PM

    Your opening rhetorical questions presume that something that generates a profit for a company and something that benefits mankind are mutually exclusive. I beg to differ. A company that is earning a profit does so because what they produce has value to enough people that they are willing to spend their hard earned money on it. The automobile, the computer, medical developments, and many other technological inventions have been profitable for companies precisely because they benefited mankind.

     

Leave a Reply

