RSS

Good News

29 Jul

It’s rare for me to find something that strikes me as good news.  I don’t feel like a pessimist.  I feel like an objective observer of a world that increasingly generates “bad news”. But I can see how some might view my observations as fundamentally pessimistic.

So, I’m pleased to find a video that offers some serious good news about health care.  I’m not here to argue that there’s no potential downside to the technology displayed in this video. Using cell phones to track our medical conditions will also allow those cell phones to track us. Nevertheless, on balance, this video gives me cause for (objective) optimism.

video    00:08:51

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 29, 2013 in Health Care, Video

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Good News

  1. Christian

    July 29, 2013 at 7:13 PM

    I gave up my cell a while back and I feel free.

     
  2. Yartap

    July 29, 2013 at 8:58 PM

    This is good news. Thu, I do question some technology that reduces our work force. But, the medical industry does make up over 16% of our Gross Domestic Product (GDP), and that is TOO MUCH COST! Forbes said the cost is almost $8,000 / person / year in this country. The possibility of lowering our cost is wonderful news!

    It is claimed that Obamacare will be more intrusive in our personal lives than the NSA. This technology may-just-be the tip of the iceberg for intrusion. And look who is producing it – General Electric, one of Obama’s favorite buddy-buddy corporations. Now, let’s add some Googly Glasses to the match.

    The technology sounds great, if it is just me and my doctor knowing! But if government has my medical information, then my weaknesses will be exposed.

    Remember the movie, The Longest Yard? It was about prison inmates playing a football game against the guards of the prison. To get an advantage over the guards, the inmates stole each guard’s medical records to see where each one was venerable for injury.

    I don’t think that the government is going to use my medical information to break my bones as the inmates used the medical information. But, I don’t think that this technology is for medical reasons. Rather, I believe it will be used for many other reason, mainly tracking, identifying and eliminating, if needed.

    Now, even if the government medical plan does not intrude, the NSA is there to steal the information over the phone.

    Please forgive me, Al. It is great technology and good news, but in the wrong hands – well – you know.

     
    • Adask

      July 29, 2013 at 10:41 PM

      Part of the “good news” is that there are still people in this country–even doctors–who are trying to do the right thing. The bad guys may stop that technology or figure out a way to exploit it, but the fact remains that somebody is trying to do something that should actually help the American people. In this day and age, all by itself, one man trying to do something good, is “good news”.

       

Leave a Reply

