RSS

JFK Speech on Government Secrecy

25 Aug

Back in the 1960s, I was just a kid and I supported Barry Goldwater.  I didn’t think much of John F. Kennedy.  I didn’t have anything against him other than the fact that he was  Democrat and I was a Republican.  But, over the years, my appreciation for JFK’s speaking ability and for the quality of his speeches has only grown.

The first six minutes of the following video are of JFK speaking.  I find his speech inspirational.  Not every visual image that’s included on this video with JFK’s speech strikes me as reasonable or even appropriate–but the sound and content of the speech itself strike me as a magnificent declaration of American principles and as a prescient indictment of today’s “National Secrecy Agency”.

If JFK were still alive, I can imagine how he might cheer for today’s internet and the whistle-blowers.

The last five minutes of the video (after JFK finished his speech), don’t inspire me.  But, those last five minutes are at least interesting and relevant.

JFK wasn’t perfect but he was one of two presidents in my memory who may have actually given a damn about this country. Reagan was the other.  Both were shot.  The rest of our recent presidents have been nothing but slick-talking con-artists who didn’t give a damn about The United States of America.

video   00:10:55

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 25, 2013 in 1st Amendment, Despotism, Secrecy, Tyranny, Video

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “JFK Speech on Government Secrecy

  1. Yartap

    August 25, 2013 at 5:16 PM

    Thanks Al,

    President Kennedy was a grant speaker and a great President. He was not the first to place a salvo over the bowel of the Bankers, but he was the last with his United States Notes. He understood the place of government and how it should work.

     
  2. JustARegularPatriot

    August 26, 2013 at 3:00 PM

    I’d suggest folks google and read the free ebook by Eustice Mullins on scribd.com, “The Curse of Canaan” for an interesting take on things. Then look up the rest of his prolific writings found there and continue reading.
    He is an American treasure.

     

Leave a Reply

