RSS

Duck Dynasty’s Phil Robertson

28 Dec

I’ve never seen an episode of “Ducky Dynasty”.  I’d never even heard of “Duck Dynasty” until two weeks ago when the mainstream news reported that somebody who looks like a member of ZZ Top made some politically-incorrect comments about gays and/or other classes of people entitled to gov-co’s special protections.  Based on his political incorrectness, some TV network prevented some bearded guy from doing his show (“Duck Dynasty”) for several weeks or months.

Duck Dynasty“?!  How goofy is that?  I dismissed the whole affair as just another example of TV silliness.

But, today, I stumbled onto a YouTube video of former Pittsburgh Steelers quarterback Terry Bradshaw talking to Jay Leno about this bearded “Duck Dynasty” guy (Phil Robertson).  An’ guess what?  In college, Bradshaw sat on the bench as second-string quarterback for two years behind Phil Robertson.  And Bradshaw didn’t mind because it was clear that Robertson was a better quarterback.

Here’s the Bradshaw video.  It’s just a little over 2-minutes long:

I was amused and slightly impressed.  If this Duck Dynasty guy was ever a better quarterback than Terry Bradshaw, then he’s got to have some substance that’s worth considering.  More, despite having more talent than Bradshaw and playing first string, one day this Duck Dynasty guy just up and quit.  He got tired of playing football and preferred to hunt ducks–so he turned the quarterback job over to Bradshaw.  I read that anecdote as evidence of a man who has some integrity and honesty.  The bearded “Duck Dynasty” guy no longer sounded like a clown to me.

So, I’d seen a video about the Duck Dynasty guy and I was intrigued.  But when another video of the Duck Dynasty guy speaking popped up I decided to take a look.  It was almost a half-hour long and I didn’t expect to watch more than five minutes.

(It’s like watching Miley Cyrus videos.  I don’t even know who she is, but everyone’s talking about her, so I feel obligated to take a look just to stay “current”.  I mean, what if somebody called in my radio show to ask a question about the economic consequences of Miley Cyrus and I didn’t even know who she was–it’d be embarrassing.  We big-time radio talk show hosts gotta stay current–y’ unnerstan?)

So I started to watch the Duck Dynasty guy (Phil Robertson) and I was instantly hooked.  The man doesn’t smile much.  He tells the truth.  He’s logical and passionate.  He’s impressive, but he’s not trying to impress.  He claims he’s not a preacher because he’s never attended seminary school, but if this video is any indication, he’s the best preacher I’ve ever seen.

I watched the whole video. I plan to find more.

Now, I understand why there’s such a fuss about the bearded guy on Duck Dynasty.  This man’s for real. He loves the Lord and he has more than enough courage to say so without apology.  He doesn’t need telephones.  He doesn’t need Duck Dynasty or TV networks.  He doesn’t need your good opinion or mine.  All he needs is the Good Lord.  I am absolutely impressed.  He’s the kind of minister a lot of us have been waiting for.

Here’s his video:

 
54 Comments

Posted by on December 28, 2013 in Bible, Spiritual War, Values, Video

 

Tags: ,

54 responses to “Duck Dynasty’s Phil Robertson

  1. Christian Gains

    December 29, 2013 at 12:54 AM

    You said it as well as anyone could have, giving him the ‘creds’ based upon his “simplicity of the Gospel”!

    I feel like Terry –I spent 40+ years, (second string to several “PHILLS”), learning the significance of “K.I.S.S.” witnessing…(that’s what he’s doing, BTW…simply telling testimonies of what the Lord has done through & in his life)….

    A&E are NOT to be congratulated for taking him back on board…they’re JUST looking at that “bottom line”; whereas, Phil ‘et al’, are looking at the Lord’s eyes, listening to His “STILL SMALL VOICE” and obeying! And, the LORD is blessing him, in spite of Saul, and his army of degenerates & miscreants! Most Americans do not realize that you’re seeing I Samuel replayed….but this time David won’t win out…(Rev.18)…Put this Chapter in present reality…which Nation do YOU KNOW has the CENTER of merchantilism, to the point that it’s destruction will cause “…the merchants of the Earth…to weep…”(verses 11; 15; & 18 – 19)? Give that some prayer filled thought….We’ve “FALLEN…FALLEN….Get ye out!”

     
  2. J.M.

    December 29, 2013 at 1:23 AM

    Thank you Alfred, Thank you Phil Robertson. I am at a loss for words.

     
  3. kanani

    December 29, 2013 at 10:09 AM

    Everything on tell-a-vision is scripted. Brilliant move by all the players to get some publicity for that show, magazine & network.

    Duck Dynasty is mindless pulp entertainment. The hunting videos they used to make are a whole lot better.

     
  4. J.M.

    December 29, 2013 at 7:08 PM

    He said he’s never attended any seminary. This is another + for him. I don’t know of anyone mentioned in ALL the Bible who did attend any seminary. Seems to me Phil is being taught by the #1 teacher regardless. Again, this is just my opinion.

     
    • Yartap

      December 29, 2013 at 7:53 PM

      And it is a good opinion, too – Jim.

      Just for information….

      The word, Easter, is derived from the Babylonian goddess, “Ishtar.” She is known as the morning star and the goddess of fertility, thus the rabbit and eggs. The pagans celebrated the festival of Ishtar in the spring. And just like with Christmas, the early Christian leaders decided to place the celebration of Christ’s resurrection upon the same date of Ishtar’s celebration to convert and control the pagans.

      Santa Claus came from St. Nicholas, who had a reputation for secret gift-giving, such as putting coins in the shoes of those who left them out for him, and thus became the model for Santa Claus, whose modern name comes from the Dutch Sinterklaas, itself from a series of elisions and corruptions of the transliteration of “Saint Nikolaos.”

      The Christmas tree tradition is believed to have come from King Nimrod’s wife. A cedar tree grew from out of the King’s grave, and she said that the King returned around the tree once a year. The tradition of having a cedar tree placed in one’s house was continued unto Egyptian times.

      A wreath placed upon a door was to signify a believer in Christ and in Christ’s coming.

      Mistletoe was believed to have the “power of fertility” or “life giving power.” In Scandinavia, mistletoe was considered a “plant of peace,” under which enemies could declare a truce or warring spouses kiss and make-up.

       
      • J.M.

        December 30, 2013 at 1:14 AM

        Shalom, my friend,Yartap,
        Been doing some studying myself re: “Christmas decorations,carols,etc.”You mentioned fertility rites.Tell me about it !!! My source tells me the tree represents the penis, the wreath represents the vagina. The round globes on the tree represented male testicles. Orgies were performed around the tree. I think it’s astounding that STILL today, I see silver & gold tinsel around “Christmas trees” same as described in Jeremiah 10. However, this was a long long time before the birth of the Messiah. My research tells me that this fertility rite which The Eternal God did not like, to put it mildly,simply had a change of name to hopefully make it acceptable to those who were beginning to see what was really happening & not participating ANYMORE. The new name started with The Mass of Christ, later called Christ’s Mass & as we know it today, Christmas. One more S added to Christmas says what? Well, let’s not include it. BUT, “Christ” is still in it, right. However, I’m sure that The “Eternal God” became pleased when the fertility rite became via, a Pope, Viva la Papa,a memorial of the birth of Christ instead of the false god it honored to begin with.In other words, let’s keep this fertility rite alive by putting Christ in it instead of Nimrod. I’m sure this pleased The Eternal God beyond words to describe.

        Re; mistletoe. If a man “caught” another man kissing his wife, the possibility of both of them being shot is not impossible. However, if it is done under the mistletoe, all is well??? Ever consider that The Eternal God’s description, or one of them is, El, & yet we have the Christmas carol, NO what > No El. What a mess,This Mass of Christ. ANYWAY with all that aside, let me take this once in a year opportunity to say, MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL !!! As of this writing, there are only SIX more days to celebrate. It’s all over after the 5th of January is up, that is until Next December 25th

        VIVA LA PAPA VIVA LA PAPA VIVA LA PAPA !!!!!

         
      • J.M.

        December 30, 2013 at 4:01 AM

        P.S.
        You,Yartap, I am certain are knowledgeable of what follows but maybe someone may read it who is not. I typed in the search bar, Origin of kissing under the mistletoe,& this is part of what appeared.

        It goes without saying that, if we were to peel off the layers of custom and myth surrounding “kissing under the mistletoe” in an attempt to discover its true history, we would find ourselves in the midst of ancient erotica. Mistletoe has long been regarded as an aphrodisiac and fertility herb. It may also possess abortifacient qualities, which would help explain its association with uninhibited sexuality.

        (After the kiss is “climaxed” people do say, Merry Christmas, at least I did & because I was “taught” to do this to honor Jesus). Authoritative permission or approval that makes a course of action valid). So, since our benevolent government approves of it, it must be right. It is a National Holiday, NO, not Holy Day, but, Holiday .Martin Luther King, EXCUSE ME,The Reverend Doctor Martin Luther King, Junior,or is it Senior, I forget, BUT he is put on an equal footing with,The Messiah by our benevolent Federal Government, as a holiday is set aside for him too. All I know is I ain’t goan be gittin messy wid Jessie. He had a few things to say about Phil Robertson, none good. Bye Yartap, my friend. I sure hope what I have said is understood as I intended. If not, I am in trouble. If it is understood per my intent, I am ok.

         
      • J.M.

        December 31, 2013 at 2:23 AM

        Yartap,
        Well we have several “witnesses” to the teachings from The Eternal God in the scriptures,here a little & there a little.
        People can justify anything they do, in their own minds. Saw a pervert recently say to another pervert, think it was on Fox news, that God is not against a “loving homosexual relationship.” The News anchor himself was a homosexual. So, when a man has an anal sexual relationship with another man God is all for it IF is performed in love??? Huh ?? How thoughts like this can even be imagined is beyond me, way beyond me. Seems like it is abnormal to be normal.

        Yartap !!! sometimes I use irony in my messages. PLEASE take this into consideration. Now I am not going to use any irony in what I am about to say nor in what I wrote above.. There is nothing “new” about the so called “new year.” It is STILL in the middle or thereabouts of DEAD WINTER. It’s another man made celebration inspired by Satan. The “true.real new year” begins in the SPRING when “new life” is “springing” forth. So, I will not be ironic & wish you a happy new year. BUt, may your life be blessed from our heavenly Father & his Son. I really don’t know for sure how to pronounce OR spell their names. Oh I know there are many who do, or believe or think they do but I don’t, and I can’t see how they all are right when each one differs from the other. Phil Robertson prayed to the “Father” in the name of Jesus. I believe that prayer was heard by The Creator & sustainer of the Universe. I remember that somewhere in the Holy Bible, The Eternal God said he placed his law ABOVE his name. I wish I could remember where. Shalom,

         
      • J.M.

        January 1, 2014 at 4:28 PM

        Yartap,

        Re: > And just like with Christmas, the early Christian leaders decided to place the celebration of Christ’s resurrection upon the same date of Ishtar’s celebration to convert and control the pagans.

        To convert and control pagans? hmmmm Really ?? Or, was it to spit in the face of Christ AGAIN ?? Keeping the SAME ritual but cleaning it up by putting Christ into it ? Tell you what, Think of something you know is an abomination. Well, let’s make that abomination a “time” to honor you,Yartap. How does that make the abomination right? It seems it adds insult to the injury. OK so people keep the same items but say we use them for an entirely different reason. People can justify anything they do & do so, in their own minds. I am undoubtedly not any different in whatever I am deceived about. IF I had the sense of a goose, I would not have commented about this subject to start with, All it will do is make people upset with me. SOME people got upset with Christ too,however. I wonder how many people will comment today? Today is one of the unhappiest days of the year.Hangovers,headaches,vomiting,body aches, etc., all kickbacks from the observance & celebration. Happy New Year to ALL.

         
      • Yartap

        January 1, 2014 at 4:28 PM

        Jim, my friend,

        I concur with your thoughts. As for me, my instructions given to me, are to stay away or be separated from sin; and to be ready with open arms for those who repent. But, I will not turn blindly to evil, nor allow others’ beliefs against my Lord’s Words.

        The verse you seek is Psalms 138: 2.

        Blessing, Yartap.

         
      • J.M.

        January 1, 2014 at 7:37 PM

        Yartap,
        Per > The verse you seek is Psalms 138: 2.
        Thank you so much.
        I believe Satan knows how to pronounce & spell the name of the Eternal God correctly, indeed I do. BUT, I don’t think it’s going to help him out whatsoever, in any way, to any degree. On the other hand, I cannot believe The Eternal God is going to cast ANYONE in the lake of fire & brimstone for the “only reason” that he/she did not know how to pronounce & spell his name right. Like Phil Robertson said, TRY & TRUST. I believe The Eternal Loves losers when when they TRY & die trying. Of Course I am speaking of The Eternal God’s LAWS, summed up in the 10 commandments. Yes, I think the holy days are still binding too,except for the animal sacrifices. I am only saying this to let anyone know where I stand. So, IF I am thought of as a bad influence, or a misleader, deceiver,etc., my comments can be eliminated, & me too, I’m sure. Let’s me & you stay friends, or if it sounds better, I want you & I to stay friends. Me thinks that is the proper way to say it.

         
    • Christian Gains

      December 30, 2013 at 1:36 PM

      J.M., I FULLY agree that that’s a + for Phil, but must add that the Jewish Rabbi Saul, (later called Paul), did attend what was at that time considered (what is now termed Seminary {I call’em Cemeteries}], “sitting under the tutelage of Gamelio”…one of the Four Greatest Rabbis in Jewish History.

       
      • J.M.

        December 30, 2013 at 4:02 PM

        Shalom, Christian Gains,
        Thank you for the correction.What a beautiful name/ID you have, & it says a LOT too. & what it says is true. Well, we both know that the cemetery, excuse me, seminary, Saul attended certainly did not teach much truth, IF ANY, about The Messiah. I feel Saul attended the cemetery, but “Paul” did not. Hence my reason for saying no one in the entire Bible attended seminary. I should have said,no true speaker,etc.The Apostle Peter had some good things to say about Paul. He even called him his beloved brother. Also, for the benefit of others, Peter explains WHY Paul was/IS misunderstood re: many of his writings. Well, Peter misunderstood, at one time, some things our Redeemer said too. There is something about you,Christian Gains, that draws me to you & tells me to go back over past threads & read what you have to say. Something is telling me that you & I understand, many, if not all things, alike.It’s just that I cannot express myself correctly sometimes, as you have the ability to do. Once again,thanks for your help. I do want to know ALL the TRUTH I possibly can. But more so,I want to be a doer not just a knower. I love Phil Robertson,based on what he said in the video. I hope he does not pull a Solomon on us, i.e. do what Solomon did in the end. It seems he has the “character” not too, I hope I am right. I love you too,Christian Gains.

         
  5. J.M.

    December 30, 2013 at 4:33 AM

    P.P.S.
    My P.S. did not post correctly I’ll try again.
    ‘Mistel’ is the Anglo-Saxon word for ‘dung,’ and ‘tan’ is the word for ‘twig’. So, mistletoe means ‘dung-on-a-twig’.” Not exactly a word origin in keeping with the romantic reputation of mistletoe plants
    Kissing Under the Mistletoe
    From Celts to Kisses, This Plant Has a Fascinating History
    By David Beaulieu

    Our benevolent Federal Government has made Christmas a National holiday.too !! This,if nothing else should convince anyone that it is a honorable period of time. WHY,because the Feds say so.

    The following Christmas song lyrics say a lot per the above words.

    Rockin’ around the Christmas tree
    At the Christmas party hop,
    Mistletoe hung where you can see,
    Every couple tries to stop,

    Rockin’ around the Christmas tree,
    Let the Christmas spirit ring,
    Later we’ll have some pumpkin pie,
    And we’ll do some caroling.
    ( Like in,No-El ?? )
    Anyway,Merry Christmas to ALL !!!

     
  6. citizenquasar

    December 30, 2013 at 10:57 AM

    Here is what I think about Phil Robertson. This comment will, of course, be deleted. And I will be banned from posting here. However, IMHO, this is the truth.

     
    • Yartap

      December 30, 2013 at 12:41 PM

      Hi citizenquasar,

      I listened to Phil and I listened to Dusty. Dusty said Jesus never said any thing about homosexuals. But, with logic, I disagree.

      Jesus said, in Matthew 5:17-18, “Think not that I am come to destroy the law, or the prophets; I am not come to destroy, but TO FULFIL. For verily I say unto you, Till heaven and earth pass, one jot or one tittle shall no wise pass from the law, till all be fulfilled.”

      So, citizenquasar, if you become or are very, very rich (which, I hope you are wealthy) does that make you a sinner, as Dusty suggest?

      Yartap.

       
      • J.M.

        December 30, 2013 at 7:42 PM

        Yartap,
        Beginning in Romans 1 verse 24, I don’t think the Darwin Dude or possibly even citizenquasar will agree with the following scriptures, but I gah-roan-T you do. Garnt-tead. Christian Gains will 2. Correct me if I’m wrong.

        Therefore God gave them over in the sinful desires of their hearts to sexual impurity for the degrading of their bodies with one another. 25. They exchanged the truth about God for a lie, and worshiped and served created things rather than the Creator—who is forever praised. Amen.

        26. Because of this, God gave them over to shameful lusts. Even their women exchanged natural sexual relations for unnatural ones. 27.In the same way the men also abandoned natural relations with women and were inflamed with lust for one another. Men committed shameful acts with other men, and received in themselves the due penalty for their error. (sho-nuff did, & still do, like in HIV/AIDS.

         
      • Yartap

        December 31, 2013 at 12:48 AM

        Jim, my friend,

        Your not wrong. Check these two passages: 1st Corinthians 6: 9-10 and 1st Timothy 1: 9-10.

        Blessings to you, and the best of the new year.

        Yartap.

         
      • J.M.

        February 13, 2014 at 12:23 PM

        @ > I hope you are wealthy) does that make you a sinner, as Dusty suggest?

        If being rich means being a sinner, then what is “God” himself? God ain’t exactly no pauper. Look at this way. If ANYONE had the material riches of God, AND the love God has, which IS an outgoing concern & caring for others, & this love is FIRST & FOREMOST, being RICH is secondary. It is written,”Beloved, I wish above all things that you will PROSPER & be in health. Personally, I think WANTING anything more than what is essential, food, clothing & shelter, wanting MORE than this is GREED. not a good thing. I don’t want to be RICH in material things. It’s too tempting to want to wallow in it & let the riches become primary & of most importance. Been there & done that & I know the effect it had on me. It slowly became all that mattered & to the extent I did not have any need for ANYTHING else, including God, or so I thought. AFTER God blessed me with MUCH MORE than I needed, slowly but surely, those blessings became the # 1 thing in my life. I’m SO GRATEFUL God allowed all my wealth to be slowly but surely taken away. NOW I say, keep me down Lord, hopefully I can slowly but surely straighten up. In other words, some people can handle wealth properly, I cannot.

         
    • Christian Gains

      December 30, 2013 at 1:43 PM

      Obviously you, “citizen” were mistaken, and do not appreciate Al’s fair attitude towards descent. It would rather helpful if you’d support your opinion with some facts though…otherwise, it’s nothing worth worrying about.

       
      • J.M.

        January 2, 2014 at 10:14 PM

        @ > otherwise it’s nothing worth worrying about.
        I buy that. Hey, Christian, do you remember when you first commented on this site? If so, will you please tell me? I have read your comments made in 2012 & after that. WOW !!! I knew it & I was right. NOT ONE thing I could disagree with about ANY of your comments..

         
    • J.M.

      December 30, 2013 at 4:33 PM

      The T shirt the dude (he likes that word,also mf-er & so forth) is wearing tells me all I need to know about him. But, you, citizenquasar, are honest enough to say you are not a Christian (meaning Christ-like) & I appreciate your honesty. By the way, the Eternal God is not exactly a pauper. It’s not his fault that most of the silver & gold,of which he is the OWNER of it all, is misused by some others. As far as what the dude had to say about long hair, he is right, but who understands everything there is to know? Except apparently him, the dude wearing the DarwinT shirt. The God I am aware of looks upon the heart, not how much we know. I think Phil Robertson’s heart is in the right place.

       
    • J.M.

      January 1, 2014 at 6:33 AM

      CQ
      @This comment will, of course, be deleted. And I will be banned from posting here.

      Wrong again,right?

       
  7. bobby90247

    January 2, 2014 at 3:31 AM

    Now I’m “split” on who to support for President! Phil Robertson or Ted Nugent?

     
    • J.M.

      January 2, 2014 at 10:56 AM

      @ > Now I’m “split” on who to support for President! Phil Robertson or Ted Nugent?

      Don’tcha think either one will be told what to do OR ELSE by who is really calling the shots?

       
      • bobby90247

        January 2, 2014 at 12:15 PM

        Yeah…BUT, these guys will go for “or else” and make the changes any way! Just like JFK…did!

        This World is being reduced to a society of “Zombies!” NO, we don’t go around “eating each other”, BUT, we do go around not paying any attention to what REALLY MATTERS! Fashion, Sports, Technology, etc., that’s the ONLY thing on anyone’s mind! Individual “Freedom’s”…the furthest thing from their minds OR what is happening to their neighbor? Nope, they just don’t care! Especially, if that neighbor is in another country, on the other side of the World.

        “WTF?” We are ALL “neighbors!!!” Doesn’t anyone realize, that the person being “run-out-of-their-home” in Nigeria by the Boko Haram could just as easily BE their neighbor? That’s right, that person “has” all the same visions, dreams, and most of all, common sense & “values” as anyone living in America…TODAY!!!

        Sorry, enough said!

         
    • Christian Gains

      January 3, 2014 at 1:48 AM

      I spent 40+ years trying DESPERATELY to share that very same Gospel….(the STORY of how Christ reached out to me…and can reach you), and Phil is one of us!

      It’s the heart…the GENUINE experience, and the conviction that the LORD’S promises are SECURE, that makes the difference…He’s the REAL DEAL..(The Book of Acts in shoe leather)…But, don’t waste your time on trying to elect him…he’s got FAR MORE IMPORTANT things to do!.

       
      • J.M.

        January 3, 2014 at 10:56 AM

        Christian Gains
        @ > he’s got FAR MORE IMPORTANT things to do!.
        Yes !!! Yes !!! Yes !!! Your 40 year struggle is paying off & I believe was paying off very likely before you knew it. I don’t know if you know this,even now, but it is paying off. Your heart IS in the right place too !!! Pray for me, please. I hope I’m not selfish in asking for this.

         
      • bobby90247

        January 3, 2014 at 11:14 AM

        Yeah, I know! But, the question still remains, “Who” do we support for President? Obviously we cannot count on either the Dems or Reps to represent anything for the People! “WE, the People…” NEED a third party capable of WINNING the Presidency…PERIOD!!!

        AND, if we don’t find someone NOW to rally behind…we don’t stand a chance of saving this country.

         
  8. J.M.

    January 2, 2014 at 6:18 PM

    @ >yeah…BUT, these guys will go for “or else” and make the changes any way! Just like JFK…did!

    Exactly !! Just like JFK.

    @ .> NO, we don’t go around “eating each other”,

    Oh yes we do to. We eat each other financially. I am not one of the we, but many are.95% of everyone I WAS associated with, in some way, was/is a predator We live in a predatory society

    Re: “WTF?” …….
    True, at least that’s how I see it too.

     
  9. carl

    January 4, 2014 at 6:47 PM

    I have commented recently on Christmas being pagan through and through!!! And now Easter!!! What Bible do you people read? Acts 12:1-4 Now about that time Herod the king streched forth his hands to vex certain of the church. And he killed James the brother of John with the sword. And because he saw it pleased the JEWS, he proceeded further to take Peter also (then were the days of unleavened bread). And when he had apprehended him, he put him in prison, and delivered hin to 4 quaternions of soldiers to keep him intending after EASTER to bring him forth to the people. Herod was an Edomite of the family that tried to kill Jesus as a baby, and he is celebrating EASTER. Pagan just like Christmas!!! To celebrate ANY of these pagan holidays is EVIL, no matter what your intentions or beliefs!!! This man on the video is WRONG, Jesus said everything that the Bible says against homosexuals for HE IS THE WORD OF GOD!!!!!End of story. If you dont believe Moses, how will you believe my words. for he wrote of ME.(meaning Jesus). Look it up!!! As far as this controversy on TV, I quit watching September 2003, but when I heard about it at work I said it sounds like publicity to me from beginning to end. Here is a quote from 1835 Sinclair Lewis “When facism comes to America, it will be wrapped in the flag and carrying a cross.” CAN YOU SAY HEGLEIAN DIALECTIC ? WAKE UP THOSE WHO HAVE BEEN CALLED BY THE GOD OF ABRAHAM, ISSAC and JACOB!!!!! Time is shorter every day!!!!!!

     
  10. J.M.

    January 5, 2014 at 5:48 AM

    Shalom Carl,my friend,
    Re; > to keep him intending after EASTER to bring him forth to the people.

    This 1 and only scripture in & of itself does not say “Easter” is wrong. I know it is pagan, & I know “The Eternal God” does not approve of this abominable ritual. But we cannot just use this verse to prove that Easter is an abomination. Also, we have another problem. In the new Testament, every time the word passover appears, it, passover, is the English word for the Greek word, pascha, every time,that is, EXCEPT where it is translated Easter. It is rather odd,isn’t it, that pascha is translated, into passover EVERY TIME except that one time? I will not go into detail with “you” of when this first Easter observance,approved of by another Pope, began,but it was celebrated / observed, etc under similar but different names long before the Pope, added it on, like he did the so called mass of Christ.

     
  11. Adask

    January 5, 2014 at 12:39 PM

    All these arguments that, since Christmas coincides with a pagan holiday, Christmas must therefore be celebrations of a pagan faith rather than Christianity, strike me as silly. I understand that December 25th almost certainly does not mark the actual date of birth of the Christ. The correlation between Christmas and a former pagan holiday are annoying–even troubling.

    I’m against celebrating the date of the birth of Christ on a a day other than the day when he was actually born. But I don’t know the exact date of the Christ’s birth. I don’t even know the exact year in which the Christ was born. We are reportedly living in anno Domini (year of our Lord) 2014. The number of this year is supposedly marks the number of years since the Christ was born. But many researchers claim that the Christ was more probably born two or three years before the A.D. series of yearly dates began. So, technically, this may be A.D. 2016 (will we have an election this November) or even A.D. 2017 (if we missed the A.D. 2016 election, does that mean Obama gets another 4 years in office?).

    So far as I know, there is no proof of the date, month or even year in which Christ was actually born. Does that remarkable ignorance prove that we shouldn’t ever celebrate the Christ’s birth? Or does it imply that we could pick a day to celebrate the Christ’s birth–even if the day we picked was technically and probably mistaken?

    In the end, what is more important: 1) knowing the exact date of the Christ’s birth; or 2) or knowing that the Christ was born? Will your salvation or mine depend on knowing the exact date of the Christ’s birth–or on believing that the Christ was born?

    The fundamental significance of December 25th is neither “pagan,” per se, nor Christian, but rather astronomical. December 21st is currently the shortest day of the year; it’s the “winter solstice”. Ancient people followed the seasons closely. They recognized that as the days got shorter, the world grew colder, plants ceased to grow and life became harder and harder. They allegedly feared that the shortening of days would continue beyond the winter solstice and the world would die in darkness and freezing temperatures. Therefore, when the winter solstice occurred and was subsequently followed by longer and longer days, primitive people (pagans and atheists) saw cause for celebration. For them, the longer, warmer days marked the rebirth of the world.

    The Catholic church, seeking to expand its political power, eventually claimed that the Christ was born on December 25th in order to capture the celebratory “energy” that already existed in primitive, unchristian, “pagan” peoples throughout the northern hemisphere.

    But does the word “pagan” include all religions not based on the texts of the Bible? If so, by the time you identify all the holidays celebrated by the Muslims, Hindus, Buddhists, polytheistic Egyptians, Australian bushmen, Haitian Voodoo worshipers, and each of the various tribes that exist or ever existed in Africa and the Americas–I doubt that there are more than a few days in any year that aren’t claimed as a “pagan” holiday by one or even several religions. In fact, it’s likely that every day of every week, month and year is claimed or was sometime claimed as a “pagan” holiday by some non-Biblical religion.

    If so, there may be NO DATE on which we can celebrate the Christ’s birth that doesn’t also correspond to a “pagan” holiday. Should that probability compel us to stop celebrating the Christ’s birth?

    And, if we can’t celebrate the Christ’s birthday because the date of celebration happens to correspond to a former pagan holiday, how can we celebrate your birthday or the birthday of your parents or children since they (probably) also correspond with some pagan holiday of some time or place?

    Why don’t you try running your pagan holiday argument past your five-year old daughter and tell here that there’ll be no cake and ice cream and presents to celebrate her birthday this year because her birthday corresponds with some Egyptian celebration of the birth if Ra that took place 4,000 years ago? Explain to you daughter that we don’t dare celebrate her birthday because the celebration might be construed as evidence that she (and you) are pagans.

    After you finish explaining to your daughter (or son) that you can no longer celebrate her/his birthday on a pagan holiday, then you can go explain to your wife why you’ll no longer be celebrating your wedding anniversary. If she asks Why?, you can explain that the date of your wedding anniversary corresponds to some obscure pagan holiday. Let’s see if you’re smart enough to argue your way through that one.

    And then there’s the wife’s birthday . . . no more B-day presents for you, Darlin’.

    Actually, eliminating our wedding anniversary birthday celebrations is a pretty cool idea. Think of the money you’d save. Think of the aggravation, you’d avoid. I.e., how many times have you forgotten your wife’s birthday or wedding anniversary? Remember all the trouble that caused? Well, once you explain that those celebrations are void because they correspond to pagan (non-Christian, non-Jewish) holidays, you’ll never again have to remember your spouse’s birthday or wedding anniversary.

    However, you may have to remember the date or your upcoming divorce. You may also be forced to remember the date when your child support is due each month–unless, of course, you can convince the judge that the child support order is void because the date of the order corresponds to a pagan holiday.

    But, not to worry. If it turns out that you were married on a date that corresponds to a pagan holiday, maybe you can prove to the judge that you weren’t even (really) “married” and therefore can’t be forced to pay your wife’s divorce attorney fees or child support.

    Yes, this no-celebrations-on-pagan-holidays argument has a lot of potential. It may be an “idea whose time has come”.

    Or, maybe not.

    Maybe it’s just silly.

     
    • Christian Gains

      January 5, 2014 at 2:35 PM

      Generally speaking, I agree that worry over whether Christmas was adopted to gather the celebratory instincts of “Pagans” or not is NOT the central issue of the Celebration. But this was the best & funniest rant on this subject that I’ve heard yet, and serves as a good example WHY Christians should stick with the “REASON for the SEASON”…but leave off the worry over, long dead Pagan celebrations.

      Of course, it’s becoming EVER MORE evident that Christianity is rapidly going amiss, and FAR TOO MANY are giving themselves over to hedonism, gluttony, selfishness, greed, and variance…not to mention narcissism…and craving for power and control.

      As a matter of fact, I see no reason why Christianity (as a RELIGIOUS MECHANISM) is not going to crumble under the weight of it’s own self-righteousness, and it’s (barely) entertainment business. The mere fact that Phil et al ARE so appealing tells a tale…there are still MANY Christians (like JM — and probably most here), that yearn for truth & trust worthiness.

      BTW, Citizenquasar, (while I’m not overly knowledgeable on the “Hunting Videos”), I’d bet that you’re probably 100% correct that, by comparison, the “Dynasty” show is QUITE (to the knowledgeable) fakey…And, here again is an example of the rather tawdry mentality of the masses, willing to settle for a blatant fake, over the more subtle fake, (AKA: the trustworthiness of the “guv’mint nanny state!”). When I hear people lauding Phil for his convictions, (rather than for his entertainment), I’ll be satisfied that he’s getting the message HE wants across…(yes…I mean the Creator & HIS Son’s message).

       
      • J.M.

        January 6, 2014 at 6:01 PM

        @ “And, here again is an example of the rather tawdry mentality of the masses, willing to settle for a blatant fake, over the more subtle fake,……”

        Yes Indeed, and, I say it’s all faked up.

         
    • J.M.

      January 6, 2014 at 5:50 PM

      @ > Actually, eliminating our wedding anniversary birthday celebrations is a pretty cool idea.

      FUN-NEE. I’m with you on this. (jus joshin) HOWEVER, It seems to me, that if celebrating anyone’s birthday is important the mother should be remembered & honored & gifts given to her,as she is the one who went through the excruciating pain (< from what my mother told me) to bring us into this world.
      But, the celebration of the birth of The Messiah did not even exist until about 300 years AFTER he was born. What follows is just one of my research findings.

      From,Christianity.com
      Today is Christmas day (Christ's mass). But for the first 300 years of Christianity, it wasn't so. When was Christmas first celebrated? In an old list of Roman bishops, compiled in A. D. 354 these words appear for A.D. 336: "25 Dec.: natus Christus in Betleem Judeae." December 25th, Christ born in Bethlehem, Judea. This day, December 25, 336, is the first recorded celebration of Christmas.
      For the first three hundred years of the church's existence, birthdays were not given much emphasis–not even the birth of Christ. The day on which a saint died was considered more significant than his or her birth, as it ushered him or her into the kingdom of heaven. Christ's baptism received more attention than his birthday in the January 6th feast of Epiphany.

      No one knows for sure on what day Christ was born. Dionysus Exiguus, a sixth century monk, who was the first to date all of history from December 25th, the year of our Lord 1. Other traditions gave dates as early as mid-November or as late as March. How did Christmas come to be celebrated on December 25th? Cultures around the Mediterranean and across Europe observed feasts on or around December 25th, marking the winter solstice. The Jews had a festival of lights. Germans had a yule festival. Celtic legends connected the solstice with Balder, the Scandinavian sun god who was struck down by a mistletoe arrow. At the pagan festival of Saturnalia, Romans feasted and gave gifts to the poor. Drinking was closely connected with these pagan feasts. At some point, a Christian bishop may have adopted the day to keep his people from indulging in the old pagan festival.

      Historian William J. Tighe offers a different view, however. When a consensus arose in the church to celebrate Christ's conception on March 25th, it was reasonable to celebrate his birth nine months later.

      Many of the pagan customs became associated with Christmas. Christian stories replaced the heathen tales, but the practices hung on. Candles continued to be lit. Kissing under the mistletoe remained common in Scandinavian countries. But over the years, gift exchanges became connected with the name of St. Nicholas, a real but legendary figure of 4th century Lycia (a province of Asia). A charitable man, he threw gifts into homes.

      Around the thirteenth century, Christians added one of the most pleasant touches of all to Christmas celebration when they began to sing Christmas carols.

      No one is sure just when the Christmas tree came into the picture. It originated in Germany. The 8th century English missionary, St. Boniface, Apostle to Germany, is supposed to have held up the evergreen as a symbol of the everlasting Christ. By the end of the sixteenth century, Christmas trees were common in Germany. Some say Luther cut the first, took it home, and decked it with candles to represent the stars. When the German court came to England, the Christmas tree came with them.

      Puritans forbade Christmas, considering it too pagan. Governor Bradford actually threatened New Englanders with work, jail or fines if they were caught observing Christmas.

      In 1843, in Victorian England, Charles Dickens published his novelette "A Christmas Carol." It became one of the most popular short works of fiction ever penned. Although the book is more a work of sentiment than of Christianity, it captures something of the Christmas spirit. The tightfisted grump, Ebenezer Scrooge, who exclaimed "humbug!" at the mention of Christmas, is contrasted with generous merry-makers such as his nephew, Fred and with the struggling poor, symbolized by Bob Cratchit and Tiny Tim. The book's appeal to good works and charitable contributions virtually defines Christmas in English-speaking lands.

      Whatever the ins and outs of Christmas, we are still unwrapping the gift of God's Son–and what an incentive to generosity and joy that gift is! ( It seems to me, that if the Father wanted his only begotten Son’s birthday to be remembered we would have some scriptures at least giving us a clue as to when to do this. On the other hand, the scriptures do say, Remember the Sabbath day to keep IT holy. And, the scriptures do say WHY we should do this. The scriptures also say WHEN this day IS. But do most of us remember?? No, we forget to remember. So much more could be said about other days that the Eternal God says are important but we forget about those too. I firmly believe that if the scriptures said to remember the birth of Christ, & make it plain as to when that time is, we would forget about that too, & we would not be talking/writing about this subject matter.now.

       
  12. Christian Gains

    January 7, 2014 at 5:36 PM

    J.M., I do not remember when, or on which subject I first responded to. Sorry…But, glad I’m inspiring you! It’s JUST JESUS through the HOLY SPIRIT, I get no credit…

     
    • J.M.

      January 7, 2014 at 10:12 PM

      Christian Gains
      I will try to post a message on this thread & see IF ALL of it goes through. I think it was my next to last message on another thread that did not post completely whatsoever. The”portion” which did go through was/showed up mostly in italics & I did not put ANYTHING in italics and only a part of what I sent, posted. I tried to let you know what was happening but it just got worse. ANYWAY, some translations say,Immanuel or Emanuel (forget which) as written in Matthew 1, verse 23. I like that name & it has the ring of truth in it as to his real name,at least to me. BUT IF Emanuel is the correct name of the Messiah, then the name Jesus is not correct. Tell me what you think & I would also be most grateful to you for sharing with me what you understand about the two witnesses in Revelation, who they are, just anything you understand about them.Maybe my using the word them is wrong. Thank you for your patience & kindness.

       
      • Christian Gains

        January 9, 2014 at 12:52 PM

        Actually, we are probably looking at this name business wrong. You see, (as with Abram, ya’acob {Jacob}, Daniel, and Saul), God has several names for people, [note:Revelation 3:12 “…I will write upon him the name of my God…I will write upon him my NEW NAME…”]. So, you see, Emanuel is just ONE of Yeshua’s names. Lord of Lord, King of Kings, Adoni, etc. I tend to like Emanuel also. We named our middle son Emanuel. God bless! (I pray that this note gets thru)…

         
  13. Adask

    January 9, 2014 at 1:27 PM

    I suspect that the key point about names may be WHO supplies them. When Abram, ya’acob, Daniel and Saul were renamed, the entity that gave them their new names was their new sovereign.

    When God gives you a new name, you become the property, servant or child of God. I think this principle is first seen in Genesis when Adam is called to give names to all of the animals. By naming the animals, Adam demonstrated and exercised his dominion over those animals. I suspect the same concept is involved in baptisms where we receive a name attributed to God.

    If that conjecture is true, and if my baptized name is “Alfred Adask” I should be subject to God’s sovereignty. However, when government drafts a birth certificate in the name “ALFRED N ADASK” and I consent to use that name, I may agreeing that the government is my sovereign.

    Under God’s sovereignty, I can be mostly “free”. Under government’s sovereignty, I may be mostly slave.

     
    • Christian Gains

      January 9, 2014 at 2:25 PM

      You’ve pretty solidly hit the proverbial nail, head on! The two biggest failures in this Nations recent history, has been “We the People”s failure to “study to shew ourselves approved, workmen that need not be ashamed, rightly diving the Word of truth”! AND our shepherds failure to properly teach, train envision & inspire us! Sadly now, we simply await the Master’s judgement, rather than HIS pleasure.

       
      • J.M.

        January 9, 2014 at 6:33 PM

        Christian Gains @ You’ve pretty solidly hit the proverbial nail, head on!
        Yes indeed. It is also not just happenstance that ALL names on tombstones ARE in all caps. Here rests a non living entity. aka DEAD. like in Corp.(se) aka Corporation.

         
      • Christian Gains

        January 9, 2014 at 11:15 PM

        Hi J.M.

        While I understand the “CORPORATE CONTROL” and the LEGAL TERMINOLOGY that gives them that control, nonetheless, I refuse to, (any longer), accept that THEY are actually “IN CHARGE” & “CONTROL”. No sir! They, themselves, are PUPPETS….and have NO AUTHORITY..They’re simply PAWNS in the celestial game! (Rev.12:7 – 9)

        The “CORPORATES” are NOT our VITAL enemy….LIES ARE!…our VITAL & MOST EFFECTIVE WEAPON is still, (and, always has been), THE WORD…the PROMISES, the AUTHORITY that the WORD gives it’s believers! (HINT: authority …define this word)…It has to do with Sovereignty….

         
      • J.M.

        January 10, 2014 at 9:28 PM

        Christian Gains,Hello dear one
        @ > They, themselves, are PUPPETS….and have NO AUTHORITY..They’re simply PAWNS in the celestial game! (Rev.12:7 – 9)

        I understand that !!! Authority is one thing. Power is another. They have the power, but I want to be on the side of the ONE & ONLY who has BOTH the authority & power. Please, Christian, don’t allow any misunderstandings we have or may have, frustrate you. It seems if we,as people, understand something clearly, everyone else should understand it clearly too. Well that just ain’t the way the grapefruit squirts. If we have been taught something & in a way that seems right & someone else sees where we are in error, explaining how we are in error, creates mayhem. Why? Because it conflicts with what we have held on to for so long as being a fact,etc.& it is almost impossible to change our minds. Also, it is very difficult to communicate this way, over the internet, when at times, only part of the comment goes through. I just recently found out that some comments are not received for a couple of days after they are sent. Once again,let’s stay friends, & friendly.

         
  14. Adask

    January 9, 2014 at 11:51 PM

    I don’t doubt that lies are our “vital enemy”. But to say so is to implicate corporations as our natural adversary. Corporations are all “legal fictions”. They don’t really exist except in the imagination of our legal system. “Legal fiction” is merely a fancy way of saying “LIE”. Corporations, like all “legal fictions” are, at base, LIES.

     
  15. Christian Gains

    January 12, 2014 at 10:51 PM

    J.M., as honest and straightforward as you are…no problem bro. I’ll NEVER let frustration win!

    Now, AL, you’ve very clearly proved (in simple reality), my point….”…the Father of lies…” is our most desperate enemy, and can ONLY be defeated by two realities: #1] Confession of UTTER AND LASTING FAITH IN JESUS AS OUR MESSIAH, and #2] BY ONLY STANDING ON THE TRUTH — the WORD OF GOD! And his minions are subject: (whether they like it or not — Matt.8:28 – 32), to HIS authority, (Matt.8: 23 – 27)…. We REALLY SHOULD just go on following HIM, and ignoring — or rebuking — them.

     
    • J.M.

      January 14, 2014 at 7:32 PM

      Christian Gains
      @ “We REALLY SHOULD…”
      and if we only would.
      and I’m still trying.
      Wish there were more like us. & if you say,there are, still seems to me there are not very many.

       
      • Christian Gains

        January 14, 2014 at 7:43 PM

        Well, J.M., if you keep in mind that, the CREATOR OF HUMAN EXISTENCE only recruited 12 DISCIPLES, and 140 followers, then you’ll better appreciate the “NARROW WAY”…which FEW find…we’ve just got to do what those original 152 did, day by day. The Book of Acts is a good and encouraging study of the “WHAT TO” and “”THE NOT TO” DO’s of being faithful! Keep up the good fight, faint not, neither hesitate, NEVER look back, and, anything less than 110%, isn’t commitment, it’s compromise. At the same time “For by GRACE are ye saved, through faith. And, that NOT OF YOURSELF. It is a GIFT OF GOD, not of WORKS lest any man should boast”! DO YOUR BEST! TRUST THE REST TO JESUS! God bless you brother!

         
    • J.M.

      January 17, 2014 at 8:21 PM

      Chistian Gains > “ It is a GIFT OF GOD, not of WORKS lest any man should boast”! DO YOUR BEST! TRUST THE REST TO JESUS! God bless you brother!

      Yes,it is a gift of God providing the following scriptures are understood & a part of our walk. James 2:14-18 in pertinent part > What good is it, my brothers, if someone says he has faith but does not have works? Can that faith save him? So also faith by itself, if it does not have works, is dead.

      18 But someone will say, “You have faith and I have works.” Show me your faith apart from your works, and I will show you my faith by my works.

      Works ARE a part of what is required. Just saying I believe Jesus died for my sins & I will live as I damn well please, ain’t gonna cut the mustard. Do you Agree?

       
      • J.M.

        January 17, 2014 at 9:39 PM

        @ Do you agree?
        Well shoo fly pie !! There are stupid questions too !!!

         
    • J.M.

      February 13, 2014 at 12:37 PM

      Christian Gains,
      @ I’ll NEVER let frustration win!
      Hang in there like a tick on a dog’s back.

       
    • J.M.

      February 13, 2014 at 12:37 PM

      Christian Gains,
      @ I’ll NEVER let frustration win!
      Hang in there like a tick on a dog’s back.

       

Leave a Reply

