RSS

MaidSafe

19 Mar

I’m wary of new technology. I’m usually slow to trust something that’s so new and so original that it hasn’t been adequately tested. I don’t need the newest, whiz-bang technology on my computer. I’m content to use the technology that was developed two years ago and is currently stable.

But MaidSafe offers a new technology that I find intriguing. It’s a means of storing computer data in computers other than your own that will allegedly guarantee that only you can access your data, and your data will never be lost. It’s something like the “cloud” (which I do not trust) but, apparently, but much safer and perhaps not subject to being accessed, stolen, hacked or deleted by anyone else.

I don’t believe that anything that’s both digital and connected to the internet is really secure. I believe that, no matter what you do, any digital files connected to the internet are always subject to being hacked. But MaidSafe sounds like a technology that might render hacking almost impossible.

I’m not paranoid (not too much, anyway).  I don’t have any secret data that I want to hide (except for where I hide the detonators, of course).  But I do have data that I don’t want to lose.  So, I find the idea of MaidSafe tempting.

Apparently, MaidSafe is not yet quite ready to rock and roll.  I don’t know when we’ll be able to sigh up.  Still, here’s a video on the subject. Whatcha think?

video 00:05:38

 
16 Comments

Posted by on March 19, 2014 in Technology, Video

 

Tags:

16 responses to “MaidSafe

  1. moon

    March 19, 2014 at 12:49 PM

    Al, in some of my research, I saw that you were apparently referred to as a “sovereign citizen”. After reading that, I knew there were detonators involved. A heads up for you: this may be your blog, but things you reveal here may not be secure.

     
  2. JustaRegularPatriot

    March 19, 2014 at 1:26 PM

    Moon, I believe his detonator statement was meant to be satire. At least that’s the way I interpreted it.

     
    • Adask

      March 19, 2014 at 2:19 PM

      Exactly. If I had any detonators and I was dumb enough to advertise that fact on this blog, you’d be fools to waste time on this reading the words of such a fool.

      The “detonator” line is an old joke with me. When we started a group called “Citizens for Legal Reform” back in A.D. 1990, some people believed we would soon be “apprehended” for daring to criticize our fearless leaders. I used to tease one of the members of the group (Jim) by calling and asking if the “detonators” were still hidden under his bed.

      He would instantly whisper back, “Don’t say that over the phone!” I ran that gag on him 2 or 3 times, and every time he’d instantly whisper the same thing: “Don’t SAY that over the phone!”

      Of course, there were no “detonators”. But it always made me laugh to hear Jim whispering on the phone as if whispering would prevent the “bad guys” from hearing whatever we said.

      You can’t live in a world where you’re afraid to even tell jokes.

      Some satire, even subtle satire, is helpful in declaring your independence and liberty. It’s not a big thing. It’s a small thing. But it’s still a helpful thing.

       
      • moon

        March 19, 2014 at 3:11 PM

        Al. finally David Irvine may have said something that actually is what you asked for in this article. Maybe I was a bit too subtle for at least one reader in my enjoyment and continuation of your satire. If my heads up to you was serious and not a joke, I would truly be an idiot for spending any time here. Apparently, some of my jokes aren’t obvious enough for some, which makes them even more humorous to me. I do enjoy your subtle humor.

         
      • J.M.

        March 19, 2014 at 5:41 PM

        @ >I’m not paranoid (not too much, anyway).

        I do not call that statement, satire. I see it as being healthy. Wish I KNEW HOW to be more paranoid. The video gives me a clue as to why somethings have been happening to me. Will be happy when MaidSafe is ready to ROCK.

         
  3. rahyah

    March 19, 2014 at 1:35 PM

    You know, these are the times when having the ability to attach documents in support of whatever commentary would serve those seeking competency or whatever, with the opportunity to view or read supporting evinces of such commentary.

    Even though Al and many herein, have differing peaceful & rational political views, none should lead into utter destruction, enslavement or imprisonment simply by names which they themselves or others conceptually chose in action to be known.

    And our political uni-versal view point, only observes unanimity in self-governance!

    Just love this Lady’s video, which clearly states why unanimity in self-governance for all walks of life in an absolute necessity: http://videos.videopress.com/EJ3hzLXD/she-gets-it1_std.mp4.

    Why do I continue to exhort people?

    One heart with courage is a Majority!….:)

    Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BzgVdX7FtS8

    Most graciously….’In Honor We Trust’
    Arthur
    Link: http://www.seagov.net/
    Notice: U.P.C. Applicable.
    P.S.: Please forgive any syntax or grammatical errors

     
  4. David Irvine

    March 19, 2014 at 2:17 PM

    I am involved with MaidSafe and an Engineer, it will be in beta testing during April as part of a worldwide launch. There will be apps developed by other companies on it, you can find some info in the mailing list. We hope to make some surprising announcements early April in New York. Basically we will ensure this is owned by everyone and anybody can profit from it. Sounds strange but watch the announcements and I hope you like it.

     
    • charles

      March 19, 2014 at 4:03 PM

      This sounds like a ramped up version of teradata. Since computers and harddrives are not eternal, I have to ask. If a bit of your file is stored on my computer and my computer crashes, what happens to your file? Is it rendered useless or is that bit duplicated somewhere else?

       
      • David Irvine

        March 19, 2014 at 5:05 PM

        Yes, it’s replicated, but dynamically and in a way the network finds the best place for the replicants. Think hadoop with fully distributed nameservers and cassandra with a lot of amazon dynamo type technology. It’s a logical step for us all. Log into any computer and it’s yours with all your data instantly there. When you leave that computer its all gone. I believe computers are commodities and should be used like that, not stand alone memories for us. Hope this helps a wee bit.

         
      • Adask

        March 19, 2014 at 6:06 PM

        It’s my understanding that each file is “sliced” into multiple “slices” and copies each “slice” are stored on multiple computers. It would have to be that way since, if the data existed as only one set of slices, but the slices were spread out around the globe, some of the computers storing those slices would be turned off for part of each day. If I tried to access one of my files and some of the slices were stored in China, there’s a good chance that I couldn’t access those file slices until the computer owner woke up from his night’s sleep and turned his computer on. If there was only one set of slices, it would be a virtual certainty, that once a file had been sliced, the file’s owner would never be able to regain that file in an intact form again.

        Thus, there’d have to be multiple copies of each file’s slices so the file could be “reassembled” at any moment, regardless of who was asleep, whose computer was turned off, in the shop for some sort of tune up, or even in the trash for being obsolete.

        I’d be surprised if there were less than ten sliced copies of each file, and number might be more than twenty. The number of slice-copies might increase in proportion to the files size.

         
  5. Mike

    March 19, 2014 at 3:58 PM

    I guess from David’s reply, time will tell. I prefer the cheap memory sticks. I know they are safe, long as I don’t loose em’

     
  6. Toland

    March 19, 2014 at 5:57 PM

    Is MaidSafe secure enough to store your Bitcoin keys?

     
    • David Irvine

      March 19, 2014 at 6:03 PM

      Your wallet would be safe on MaidSafe as long as your computer were not compromised with keyloggers etc. In terms of the data stored then yes very safe.

       
  7. dusty

    March 20, 2014 at 1:52 AM

    This is a program which has exclusive rights to market the Strikeforce Technologies™ patented keylogger encryption. which is going on millions of gov’t and military computer systems already, now available to home and business applications. Combine this with the ‘Maidsafe’ storage and you would have a bulletproof setup. Of course you still need antivirus and malware protection, but with the encryption, even if they put a keylogger in your system, all they get in return is RANDOM NUMBERS, completely useless information. Vids on that site.. it’s quite fascinating. They also give 10 free stock shares just for looking, without having to buy a thing!

     
  8. moon

    March 20, 2014 at 10:34 AM

    Toland, want to trade your Bitcoin for my Beanie Babies?

     

Leave a Reply

