RSS

Government Controls Google?

10 Jun

Jus' folks at Google! [courtesy Google Images]

Jus’ the friendly folks at Google!
[courtesy Google Images]

One aspect of the internet–and, especially, Google–that flat-out amazes me is the ability to write virtually any question into the search engine and get an extensive list of articles that answer my question.

I’m not just talking about typing “Kentucky” into the search engine and getting a list of articles on Kentucky.  I’m talking about asking specific questions like “How many members in Congress?” or “How many meters in a mile?” and getting an instant answers (“435” and “1,609.34”)–not just a list of articles that might hold the answer.

I’m even talking about asking “fuzzy” questions like “How many States have legalized marijuana?” and getting an instant list of articles that can be researched in just a few more minutes of my time.

Google’s capacity to not merely list of articles on a specific subject, but even answer specific questions is an extraordinary research capability for writers.  I.e., I can start to write an article on a primary subject and then–if I dimly recall some second subject or incident that might help illustrate my primary subject–simply ask a question about that “dimly-recalled” subject and “instantly” find an express answer or at least several articles that include that answer.  This research capacity allows me to achieve in minutes what might’ve once taken hours or weeks to achieve–or perhaps couldn’t have been achieved at all.

I guarantee that Google makes my IQ appear 10 points higher than it really is.  Google allows me to do research almost instantly.  That instantaneous research allows me to write more articles and be more prolific.  Google allows me to “connect the dots” that I only suspect may exist.

So, I’ve been a Google fan for several years–despite the fact that many American are deeply concerned about Google’s insatiable appetite for gathering data and creating profiles on every American.  Like a cold, technological Santa Claus, Google “knows what you’ve been reading; it knows when you’re awake; it knows if you’ve been bad or good,so be good for Google’s sake!  Hey!

If Google hasn’t already become Big Brother, it seems headed in that direction.

Nevertheless, until now, Google has been like an garrulous wife: I couldn’t trust her to keep my secrets, but on the other hand, she’d answer all my questions (which is an enormous blessing for a writer).

Until today.  Google didn’t answer my question today.  First, I was surprised.  I rephrased my question and again Google failed to answer. I rephrased and rephrased my question again–at least a dozen times–and Google still failed to answer.

I’m deeply concerned.  I’m not surprised; I’m shocked.  This is the first time Google has ever failed to answer my questions, and given the variety of rephrased questions I posed today, I have to conclude that that this is not a failure, per se, but a refusal.  Google is refusing to answer my question.

I may have to divorce the bitch.

 

•  The problem started last Sunday, when two Las Vegas police officers were murdered as they sat eating lunch.  This morning, I read an article about the murders in The Washington Times entitled “Vegas rampage underscores the rise of violent radicals; cop killings up 53%” which declared in part,

 

“The slayings of officers Alyn Beck, 41, and Igor Soldo, 31, who were gunned down while having lunch at a pizza buffet, add to a trend that has law enforcers worried that they are becoming the targets of crime.

“’We are seeing more direct violence as a result of radical groups, and that does concern us,’ said Rich Roberts, a spokesman for the International Union of Police Associations. ‘There seems to be more people out there who are blatantly anti-cop, and heavy exposure through the Internet and other propaganda seems to make people with these violent views feed off each other.’

“This year is on track to be one of the most deadly for police officers since 2001, when terrorists hit the World Trade Center, according to the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund, which tracks crimes against law enforcers nationally. There have been 23 law enforcement shooting deaths so far this year, compared with 15 shooting deaths at this time last year.”

That’s a 53% rise as compared to A.D. 2014.  The percentage is impressive, but the numbers are comparatively small.  There’ve been just eight more cops killed so far this year than last.  That’s about 1.6 more cops killed per month than last year.  Is this evidence of a trend or merely a statistical  aberration?

Knowing how many cops had been killed so far this year, I wanted to find out how many civilians had been killed by cops this year so I could discuss that comparison on tonight’s radio show.

So I asked Google, “How many civilians have been killed by cops in 2014“?  Google responded with a series of articles on the Las Vegas shooting of the two police officers (including article warning about the dreaded “white supremacy” and “sovereign citizens’ movements).  But Google did not answer my question about how many “civilians” had been killed by cops.

I was suprised.  I’ll bet I’ve posed several hundred questions to Google and this was the first time Google ever failed to provide a proper answer.    I didn’t ask about how many cops had been shot, I asked about how many civilians had been shot by cops.

Somehow, Google misunderstood my question.  I thought I might’ve made a mistake in my choice of words.  So, I rephrased:

How many people have been killed by cops in 2014“?  Again, Google sent me a series of articles on Sunday’s murders of two Las Vegas cops.

Now, my eyes are beginning to narrow and I’m starting to wonder what’s going on at Google?  I’m beginning to suspect that the problem is not my choice of words, but Google’s refusal to answer my question and perhaps even Google’s insistence that I read what Google wants me to read.

I continued to rephrase my questions:  “civilians killed by cops in 2014”;  “civilians killed by cops”; “citizens killed by cops”; “cop kills citizen”; “cops kill citizens”; “cops kill”, etc.–and every time, Google directed me to the articles on the murders of two Las Vegas police officers and the warnings about “white supremacy” and “sovereign citizens” movements.

It’s not impossible that Google’s programmers simply screwed up.  Maybe Google’s computers mistakenly presume that, in the immediate aftermath of the Las Vegas murders, every inquiry that uses the words “cops” and “kill” are directed to the Las Vegas murders.  A couple of days from now, perhaps the Google programers will correct their error, and I when I ask “How many civilians/ citizens/ people have been killed by cops?,” I’ll get a straight answer.

Perhaps Google’s apparent refusal to answer my questions is actually evidence of a benign mistake or misunderstanding.

But I’ve relied on Google to answer my questions for several years, and I’ve never before seen a single failure until today’s persistent and multiple failures to provide answers.  I can’t avoid the conclusion that someone at Google is intentionally promoting the government’s “party line”.  Someone at Google is inhibiting my ability to easily discover answers to questions that Google and/or government thinks “inappropriate”.  Apparently, somebody at Google doesn’t want me to know how many civilians have been killed by cops.  Insofar as that’s true, that only makes me more determined to find the answer to that question.

Google’s motto–“Don’t be evil”–has apparently become as irrelevant as “In God We Trust”.

•  DuckDuckGo.com is a search engine that allegedly doesn’t keep track of where you’ve been and presumably doesn’t create profiles of you based on your internet surfing and buying habits.  I don’t trust anything digital.  I don’t believe there’s any privacy in the internet age.  I hope DuckDuckGo is telling the truth and doesn’t spy on us, but how could I confirm that hope?  Believe what DuckDuckGo says?  I might as well believe Obama.

Despite DuckDuckGo’s claims to provide privacy, I haven’t used that search engine because I don’t believe that it’s as “complete” as Google.  See, if I use Google to research a certain subject, I might get 2 million hits while I might only get 50,000 hits with DuckDuckGo.

(But, now that I think about it, that’s a pretty dumb reason to avoid DuckDuckGo.  I’ll probably never read more than two or three articles on whatever subject I’m researching anyway, so what difference does it make if Google will provide 2 million more articles that I won’t read while DuckDuckGo will only provide 50,000 that I won’t read?)

In any case, I decided to compare DuckDuckGo to Google.  I typed “How many civilians killed by cops” into the DuckDuckGo search engine and instantly received a long list of articles (I don’t know how many) but the top 20 articles all answered my question or dealt with subject I’d asked about.  Where Google couldn’t/wouldn’t answer my question (about how many civilians killed by cops) once in a dozen different inquiries, DuckDuckGo provided 20 articles answering my question in the first try.

I think my choice of search engines is moving from Google to DuckDuckGo.  There’ll still be times when I use Google (it has a vastly superior collection of images that I can use in my blog articles).  There may be times when the DuckDuckGo articles don’t meet my requirements, and I’ll try Google again.

But today’s experience makes me strongly suspect that Google is no longer the independent and impartial supplier of information I previously supposed.  Somebody, perhaps ultimately the gov-co, appears to be exerting an undue influence on “sensitive” information that Google might otherwise supply.  Someone appears to be intentionally restricting my access to the “dots” that I want to connect.

I can’t accept that.  My divorce from Google may be “civilized”.  We might get together once in a while.  But the honeymoon . . . and the marriage . . . are now over.

 

 

 

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

15 responses to “Government Controls Google?

  1. cory

    June 10, 2014 at 12:23 PM

    Try Starpage.com… it works, and is enhanced by Google….

     
    • Adask

      June 10, 2014 at 1:10 PM

      I think you mean Startpage.com . . . right?

       
  2. Jethro!

    June 10, 2014 at 1:19 PM

    https://ixquick.com is the self-proclaimed “the world’s most private search engine.” It provided me several satisfactory results on the first page when searching the question, “How many people have been killed by cops in 2014?” Have a look at that search engine.

     
  3. harrytapp

    June 10, 2014 at 1:36 PM

    I divorced google (wouldn’t surprise me if they knew I just typed their name) a long time ago. I will try duckduckgo. starpage is a parked site for sale.

     
  4. secretariat@seagov.net

    June 10, 2014 at 2:08 PM

    Alfred,

    If I’m remiss, or just having a senior moment….lol, I thought I had sent you an inquiry about the conformity of state revenue income laws and condification thereof, must be in compliance in uniformity with federal income tax codes and application thereof?

    Is this true and do you have any cites from you locale?

    Most graciously….’In Honor We Trust’
    Arthur
    Link: http://www.seagov.net/
    Notice: U.P.C. Applicable.
    P.S.: Please forgive any syntax or grammatical errors.

     
    • Adask

      June 10, 2014 at 2:25 PM

      Hi Arthur,

      Well, unless I’m having a senior moment, I have no recollection of having received any inquiry from you about the relationship of state to federal income tax laws.

      Al

       
  5. Henry

    June 10, 2014 at 4:07 PM

    The government does not control Google. Both the government and Google are controlled by the same third party: international Big Money.

    Government was the main force behind the development of the computer and the internet, now Google is the main implementer of Big Data and inescapable surveillance.

    They’re working together to build the dystopia we’ve been warned about since the 1930s.

     
  6. prayerwarriorpsychicnot

    June 11, 2014 at 3:34 AM

    Is it just me, or does Google have a problem understanding …
    taknbsorbemwon5.wordpress.com/…/is-it-just-me-or-does-google-have-a-p…
    15 Apr 2014 – At times it seems as if Google is bending over backwards to specifically avoid …. You are commenting using your WordPress.com account.

     
  7. prayerwarriorpsychicnot

    June 11, 2014 at 3:36 AM

    Reblogged this on Citizens, not serfs and commented:
    Is it just me, or does Google have a problem understanding …
    taknbsorbemwon5.wordpress.com/…/is-it-just-me-or-does-google-have-a-p…
    15 Apr 2014 – At times it seems as if Google is bending over backwards to specifically avoid …. You are commenting using your WordPress.com account.

     
  8. henry

    June 11, 2014 at 9:35 AM

    One loses skills when technology makes them obsolete. We use calculators so now it is difficult to subtract 189 from 456 without one. Because of information is at our finger tips, the number one answer to the question who was the second President of the United States from college graduates is Abraham Lincoln. Because of GPS, you don’t need to learn how to use a map. Because of social media, young people are not acquiring skills in dealing with real people. How many people can grow their own food? Because there are so many smart people who think about complex thoughts, most people think that they do not need to even attempt such feats. Schools teach kids the skills that they will need to have in the future: like how to masturbate. Is all this happening by chance or are we being intentionally dumbed down?

    Stalin created the concept of “political correctness”. If you do not have the words to express an idea, you can hold it in your head but you cannot transmit it. Therefore the ideas fade. Perhaps Google’s selective memory is a similar device. I use Google every day. Most of the time I can get what I’m looking for. Once there is a better technology I’ll probably forget how to use Google.

     
  9. J.D.

    June 11, 2014 at 10:37 AM

    The Bowe Berghdahl script not only attempts to frame veterans as the most dangerous threat to the homeland, a threat that needs to be neutralized with brain chips and internment (re-education) camps, but it also incorporates “white supremacy” and “sovereign citizens” into the narrative.

    It will be fabricated that the dictator/president and Berghdahl family has received hate mail, etc., from white supremacists. It could be claimed that the prisoner exchange helped Obozo’s fellow muslims escape confinement. That is, both Bergdahl, a purported convert and the five top Gitmo commanders. The fake War on Terror can continue, Homeland Security can appear to be legitimate and the puppet masters can resume directing theater operations, as well as media propaganda.

    This will also create the illusion that whites loathe every action the dictator/president makes, regardless of any noble gestures and/or actions, simply because of race. If you take into consideration racial division, “white guilt” and political party affiliations, it becomes clear that the state is separating the population into factions that are easy to control and conquer.

    The Sovereign Citizens will be labeled as white supremacists because they don’t agree with the dictator/president and everything they say or do will be purposely misconstrued as racist. They are resistance to the state and therefore, must be silenced.

    The state is trafficking children and providing legal representation for them in an attempt to bring about the North American Union.

     
  10. .J.D.

    June 11, 2014 at 10:39 AM

    The Bowe Berghdahl script not only attempts to frame veterans as the most dangerous threat to the homeland, a threat that needs to be neutralized with brain chips and internment (re-education) camps, but it also incorporates “white supremacy” and “sovereign citizens” into the narrative.

    It will be fabricated that the dictator/president and Berghdahl family has received hate mail, etc., from white supremacists. It could be claimed that the prisoner exchange helped Obozo’s fellow muslims escape confinement. That is, both Bergdahl, a purported convert and the five top Gitmo commanders. The fake War on Terror can continue, Homeland Security can appear to be legitimate and the puppet masters can resume directing theater operations, as well as media propaganda.

    This will also create the illusion that whites loathe every action the dictator/president makes, regardless of any noble gestures and/or actions, simply because of race. If you take into consideration racial division, “white guilt” and political party affiliations, it becomes clear that the state is separating the population into factions that are easy to control and conquer.

    The Sovereign Citizens will be labeled as white supremacists because they don’t agree with the dictator/president and everything they say or do will be purposely misconstrued as racist. They are resistance to the state and therefore, must be silenced.

    The state is trafficking children and providing legal representation for them in an attempt to bring about the North American Union.

     
  11. Mark

    June 12, 2014 at 9:03 AM

    I believe google can and will selectively refuse to give the search results wanted on certain topics depending on who is asking. For someone such as you, Al, who has a following and is known to write on such subjects, you are denied the easy access to such information. For someone else, who never writes about these issues and has no “following”, the information is granted.

    I’ve seen instances where my wife could look up something, but when I tried, I was directed to other unrelated sites/stories. I stopped using google for much of my web searching except maps quite some time ago. I use Startpage.com

    Anyway, below is an excerpt from a commentary by John Whitehead.

    “There’s certainly no shortage of things to be outraged about, starting with this dangerous mindset that has come to dominate law enforcement and the courts that protecting the lives and safety of police officers (of all stripes) is more important than the lives and safety of the citizenry. This is true even if it means that greater numbers of innocent civilians will get hurt or killed (police kill roughly five times more often than they are killed), police might become laws unto themselves, and the Constitution will be sidestepped, or worse disregarded, at every turn.”-John Whitehead

    https://www.rutherford.org/publications_resources/john_whiteheads_commentary/just_shoot_the_mindset_responsible_for_turning_search_warrants_into_de

     

Leave a Reply

